carriejmcclendon

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

BREASTFEEDING

on May 18, 2014

I have always felt that the best milk that a baby could have i breast milk. When I had my children, I breastfed them and I think they turned out to be wonderful children. I read somewhere that breast milk make the babies intelligent and there is also less health issues when given breast milk. The breast milk is pure of any added preservatives. My mom always told me if I had children to make sure I breastfed them. People have breastfed forever, our parents done it and their parents before them done it and they all turned out to be fine. When my daughter was pregnant, I encouraged her to breastfed. She did breastfeed until she returned back to school. She decided to use a form of birth control and she was then informed that she would not be able to breastfeed again. When her baby was put on formula, the baby had all kind of health issues with the formula. My daughter later stated that was a lesson learned for the future if she plans to have other children.

During my reading and research, I have found that breast milk has many benefits for the baby and the mother. Breast milk is more easy to digest than the formula, breast milk fights disease, it saves money, and it is good for the mother’s health (Women Health, 2014). Breastfeeding also benefits society as well. 90 percent of families breastfeed for six months and fewer medical issues occur (Women Health, 2014). The environment also benefits from breastfeeding producing less trash and plastic waste compared to cans and bottles from using formula (Women Health, 2014). Breastfeeding causes a lower risk of ear and respiratory infections, atopic dermatitis, gastroenteritis, necrotizing enterocolitis, type 2 diabetes, and sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) (CDC, 2014). Another study also reports that breastfeeding helps reduce overweight in infants.

Breastfeeding in China

From reading, China’s breastfeeding rates is better than the United States and Europe (Web, 2014). Almost all Chinese woman plan to breastfeed. Breastfeeding in the public is much more acceptable in China than in the West (Web, 2014). There is little support by health professional and the hospital on breastfeeding their babies. Most mothers in China is told “to stop breastfeeding” (Web, 2014). In the United States, there are certain benefits to breastfeeding and in China, women feel there is less support and information on breastfeeding. China women is encouraged to wen their babies after they turn six months.

References
CDC, (2014). Does Breastfeeding Reduce the Risk of Pediatric Overweight,Retrievedfrom,http://www.cdc.gov/nccdphp/dnpa/nutrition/pdf/breastfeeding_r2p.pdf
Web, (2014). Breastfeeding a Baby in China, Retrieved from, http://www.havingababyinchina.com/reference/breastfeeding-a-baby-in-china/
Women Health, (2014). Breastfeeding: Why Breastfeeding is Important, Retrieved from, https://www.womenshealth.gov/breastfeeding/why-breastfeeding-is-important/index.html

One response to “BREASTFEEDING

  1. Shuketa Phelps says:

    Carrie breastfeeding is best for babies. I have never breastfeed either of my children because it is so time consuming. I regretted it because both of them struggled with formulas and had to experience several different before I found the one that was right for them. I have said to myself since then that if I ever decide to have another child I will at least give breastfeeding a shot.

Leave a Reply

